2017 Construction Awards Gala Recognizes Best of Missouri’s Construction Industry


Features 20th Annual Keystone Awards,7th Annual Specialty Contractor of the Year Awards & Inaugural AGC 1st Awards

On Thursday, November 9th the Associated General Contractors (AGC) of Missouri announced the winners of its 2017 construction industry awards at its gala event at the Ameristar Casino Resort & Spa.  The Construction Awards Gala featured the 20th Annual Construction Keystone Awards which highlight the creativity and talents of Missouri’s construction industry.  This year marks the seventh time the AGC of Missouri has named First Place Specialty Contractors in 12 disciplines along with the coveted Specialty Contractor of the Year and the inaugural AGC 1st Award for Contractors best exemplifying the tenets of the AGC 1st campaign of “members supporting members”.

The 20th Annual Keystone Awards were presented to 8 contractors chosen from a group of 22 finalists covering a broad spectrum of project types including hospitals, educational buildings, research facilities, parks, treatment plants, highways and bridges.  The awards ceremony also honored the owners of the projects in this elite group.

The Construction Keystone Awards are not awarded based upon a project’s beauty. Instead, the Keystone Awards recognize a contractor’s success in achieving solutions during construction for challenges faced on a project.  The awards are a glowing recognition of construction professionals whose skill, teamwork and spirit of innovation make a lasting contribution to a community by building the facilities that support and enhance the quality of life. Safety performance and workforce diversity also are essential components of overall performance.

Keystone Project of the Year winners include: The Harlan Company for The Jan Phillips Learning Center (Pacific, MO); Alberici Healthcare for the St. Joseph Hospital, Lake Saint Louis Campus Expansion (Lake Saint Louis, MO); Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. for the Columbia I-70 Bridges Design Build (Columbia, MO); Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. for the South Lawrence Trafficway (Lawrence, KS); Murphy Company for Condenser Water System & Building Automation Upgrade at Scottrade Center (St. Louis, MO); icon Mechanical Construction and Engineering for Zurich North America Headquarters (Schaumburg, IL); Power UP Electrical Contractors for Kiener Plaza (St. Louis, MO); and Alberici Constructors in a Joint Venture with Stanley Consultants, Inc. for the Edgewater Unit 5 AQCS Project (Sheboygan, WI). Click here for project photos and descriptions.

The 2017 Keystone Heritage Award was posthumously awarded to two Giants in the construction industry, Alfred J. Fleischer and Dick Mantia, for their work in the early the early 1970s to establish the first collaborative organization between Labor and Management in the United States then known as “PRIDE” (an acronym for Productivity and Responsibility Increase Development and Employment), still in existence today and known as the St. Louis Construction Cooperative.  This organization was later recognized by the U.S. Dept. of Labor as the “finest example of labor-management cooperation in America”.  Their perseverance and dedication to reconcile these construction industry issues in St. Louis was unparalleled and changed the course of history to bring jobs to the region.

AGC 1st Awards

The inaugural AGC 1st Awards were presented to S. M. Wilson & Co. and icon Mechanical Construction & Engineering, LLC as the General Contractor and Specialty Contractor, respectively, that best exemplifies the tenets of the AGC 1st Campaign launched last November.  These tenets promote a general culture of “members supporting members” through such practices as promoting loyalty among fellow AGC members, utilizing AGC resources and its members for information and services and overall engagement in AGC of Missouri.

Specialty Contractor Awards

The AGC of Missouri also announced 12 Specialty Contractor of the Year (SCOTY) Awards to Specialty Contractors voted “First Place” in their discipline by the general contractor members of the AGC.  The General Contractor members were asked to consider a Specialty Contractor’s timeliness in regard to completion of project(s), ability to stay within budget and their overall experience with the specialty contractor.  The 12  First Place Specialty Contractor of the Year (SCOTY) award winners are:  D & S Fencing Co., Inc. (Ancillary Services); Byrne & Jones Construction (Concrete / Paving); Budrovich Excavating & Contracting (Earthwork & Utilities); Guarantee Electrical Company (Electrical); Midwest Service Group (Environmental Remediation & Demolition); Flooring Systems, Inc. (Int. & Ext. Finishes, Openings & Fixtures); Murphy Company (HVAC / Piping); John J. Smith Masonry Company (Masonry); Fire Tech, LLC (Plumbing & Fire Protection); BAM Contracting, LLC (Structural & Finish Carpentry); ACME Erectors, Inc. (Structural & Finish Metals); and, Kirberg Company (Thermal & Moisture Protection).

The Specialty Contractor receiving the most votes by General Contractors also was presented the Specialty Contractor of the Year award by the AGC of Missouri. This distinction was awarded to Byrne & Jones Construction.

“As a statewide construction trade association it’s really exciting for us to have the opportunity to highlight outstanding projects completed by our members here in Missouri and throughout the country.  The SCOTY Awards provide our General Contractors the opportunity to honor our specialty contractors for their contributions to the success of a project,” said Leonard Toenjes, CAE, president of the AGC.  “More than ever in today’s competitive and challenging construction environment, collaboration is the key to making a successful project happen.”

The Associated General Contractors of Missouri is the united voice of the construction industry, representing nearly 550 commercial, industrial, heavy and highway contractors, industry partners and related firms in 110 counties in Missouri. Visit:  www.agcmo.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.