American Society of Concrete Contractors News

Ninth Annual Decorative Concrete Awards

The Decorative Concrete Council, (DCC), a specialty council of the American Society of Concrete Contractors (ASCC), St. Louis, in partnership with Concrete Construction magazine, announces its ninth annual Decorative Concrete Awards.  The competition is open to DCC members and non-members.

Entries are invited in the following categories:  overlays, cast-in-place stamped and special finishes, stained, polished, countertops, vertical application, concrete artistry, multiple applications, architectural concrete, decorative environmental, and project video.  With the exception of countertops, two awards may be given in each category, for projects 5,000 SF and less, and projects over 5,000 SF.  Submittals are judged on craftsmanship, aesthetics, functionality and creativity.

The deadline for submittal is September 30, 2016.  The awards will be presented at the World of Concrete 2017.  For more information, or to enter go to or call 1-866-788-2722.

ASCC Member Owner Safety Award

The Safety and Risk Management Council (SRMC) of the American Society of Concrete Contractors (ASCC), St. Louis, has announced a new safety award, the ASCC Member Owner Safety Award.  The purpose is to recognize one owner/executive each year, of a contractor member company, that displays a clear focus and passion for safety, and provides the leadership that creates a best-in-class safety culture.

The new award is in keeping with Goal #1 of the ASCC Strategic Plan: Increase the Number of Contractor Member Owners Who Truly Demonstrate a Personal Commitment to Safety.

“Strong safety cultures thrive in an organization where leaders take an active role,” says Scott Greenhaus, SRMC council director.  “Contractor member owners that understand this know that building a true safety culture begins and ends with them: the priorities they set, the choices they make and their expectations of others.  It requires effort and commitment from the top, but employees will tell you that it makes a difference.”

To enter, the company must be a member in good standing of the ASCC.  The nominee should be a CEO, owner, president or high level vice president.  A completed application plus two letters of recommendation from outside the company are required to enter.

The ASCC also recognizes contractors with Zero Last Time Incidents for a given year, Improvement over the preceding year, Recognition (members with an incident rate below the industry average), and members with the Lowest Incident Rate in six manhour categories.  The W. Burr Bennett Award for Safety Excellence recognizes top safety programs in General Contractor and Specialty Contractor categories.  Fleet Safety Awards honors members with outstanding fleet safety records.

The Safety and Risk Management Council (SRMC) is a specialty council dedicated to making ASCC contractors the safest in the industry.  The Council board consists of safety and insurance professionals from all aspects of the concrete contracting industry.  The group meets three times a year and spends countless additional hours overseeing safety matters for the organization.  Council activities include publication development, review and monitoring of ASCC events and materials for safety compliance, member education, a safety awards program, and a safety/insurance hotline.

The ASCC is a non-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the capabilities of those who build with concrete, and to providing them a unified  voice in the construction industry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.