Associations - Page 98

COCA Elects 2016 Board of Director & Officers


During its Council of Owners and Construction Associates December 10, 2015 Board of Director’s meeting, Mr. Kenneth B. Pollmann, General Manager Power Operations, Prairie State Generating Co., LLC; was elected as the new Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Council of Owners and Construction Associates, Inc. (COCA, Inc.).

Also, elected as the Vice –Chairman was Mr. Jonathan A. Bach, Mechanical Integrity Specialist Engineer, Afton Chemical Corporation; and elected as the Secretary/Treasurer was Mr. Joseph Wickenhauser, Safety Excellence Coordinator, Olin Brass Fabricated Products.

COCA, Inc., located in Maryville, Illinois is the local Construction User Council serving the Metro-East area of Southwestern Illinois, and is affiliated with the Construction Users Roundtable (CURT). The primary purpose of COCA is to increase safety awareness; and the efficiency and cost effectiveness of the Construction Industry.

COCA’s membership includes the area’s major Industries and Utilities and over 130 construction firms who perform construction and maintenance services for these industries.


Phil Hocher named AGC of Missouri Board Chairman


Missouri Highway Contractor Lead Statewide Association in 2016

Phil Hocher, president of Pace Construction Company has been elected the chairman of the board of the Associated General Contractors of Missouri (AGC) for 2016.    Phil holds a civil engineering degree from SIU-Carbondale and an MBA from Fontbonne University.  Founded in 1932, Pace Construction Company is a highway contractor specializing in asphalt production, asphalt paving and bridge construction.  Hocher succeeds Joseph M. Kaiser of BSI Constructors, Inc. who will remain on the board as immediate past chairman.

Hocher’s dedication to the construction industry and his involvement in the AGC spans many years and a variety of committees.  He has served on the labor policy and collective bargaining committees and various training/advancement fund committees.  He also has served on the quality management and budget/finance committees. Hocher served as president of the former AGC of Missouri chapter in 2009 and has been a member of both the former St. Louis and Missouri chapters’ boards for a total of nine years both before and after their merger in 2015.

Other officers of the AGC for 2016 are:  chair elect of the board – Ed Twehous, Twehous Excavating Co., Inc.; vice chair of the board –William Wagner, S. M. Wilson & Co.; secretary-treasurer – Becky Spurgeon, Interface Construction Corporation; building division chair – Greg Hesser, Alberici Constructors, Inc.; heavy/highway/infrastructure division chair – Chip Jones, Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc.; building division vice-chair – Rebecca Wall-Schultz, Paric Corporation; and, heavy/highway/infrastructure division vice-chair – Paul Ideker, Ideker, Inc.

Serving on the board representing contractor members are:  Scott Drury, Bloomsdale Excavating Co., Inc.; Larry Goodwin, Goodwin Brothers Construction Co.; Zachary Hamilton, Kwame Building Group, Inc.; Don Rosenbarger, Delta Companies; Sean Thouvenot, Branco Enterprises, Inc.; and, Bryan Wilkerson, Clarkson Construction Company.

Serving on the board representing the AGC’s specialty contractors are:  Steve Faust, Icon Mechanical Construction & Engineering, LLC and Jaime Loch, Collins & Hermann, Inc.

Serving on the board representing the AGC’s supplier/service providers is Duane Smith, BlueLine Rental and Gary Wisch, DeLong’s, Inc.

The ex-officio board members representing the Construction Leadership Council and Young Executives Club for 2016 are Michael Richardson of Pyramid Electrical Contractors and Randy Besand of Pace Construction Company, respectively.

The Associated General Contractors of Missouri is the leading voice of the construction industry in Missouri, representing approximately 550 commercial, industrial, heavy and highway contractors, industry partners and related firms in 110 counties throughout Missouri.


ASA Midwest Council 14th Annual Meet the GC’s Expo on January 20


The American Subcontractors Association (ASA) – Midwest Council will host its annual Meet the GC’s Expo on Jan. 20, 2016 at the St. Charles Convention Center in St. Charles, MO. The yearly event gives area subcontractors and construction professionals the opportunity for valuable face-to-face time with the premier St. Louis area general contractors.

ASA members and non-members are welcome to attend. Reservations are required by January 13th. The cost to attend is $65 for ASA members and $95 for non-members. The expo will be open 3-4:30 p.m. for ASA members only, and 4:30-7 p.m. for all registered attendees.

The expo provides an ideal opportunity for construction-industry professionals to network with some of St. Louis’ top general contractors, all in one place and in a relaxed setting.

ASA invites anyone in a construction-related industry to register to attend and enjoy the relaxed evening, as the expo is designed specifically for networking and building relationships.

Last year’s event drew more than 1000 attendees. ASA will also have a booth at the expo with information about the organization and membership.

Attendees must register online at by January 13, 2016.

2016 St. Louis Area General Contractor Exhibitors: 

  •  Alberici Constructors, Inc.
  •  ARCO Construction Company
  •  Brinkmann Constructors
  •  BSI Constructors
  •  Clayco
  •  Contegra Construction Company
  •  Conway Contracting
  •  Eagan Building Group
  •  Echelon Constructors LLC
  •  HBD Construction, Inc.
  •  Helmkamp Construction Co.
  •  Holland Construction Services
  •  IMPACT Strategies, Inc.
  •  Interface Construction Corporation
  •  Kadean Construction Company
  •  KCI Construction Company
  •  The Korte Company
  •  Kozeny-Wagner, Inc.
  •  L. Keeley Construction Co.
  •  LANDCO Construction
  •  Lawrence Group Projects
  •  McCarthy Building Companies
  •  McGrath & Associates, Inc.
  •  Paric Corporation
  •  Pinnacle Contracting, Inc.
  •  Poettker Construction Company
  •  R. G. Ross Construction Company
  •  Rhodey Construction
  •  S. M. Wilson & Co.
  •  Sitelines, Inc.
  •  Tarlton Corporation
  •  THOR Construction
  •  United Construction Ent. Co. of St. Louis
  •  Volk Construction
1 96 97 98